WNKU http://wnku.org en Princess Of 'Fresh Prince' Brings History To Children http://wnku.org/post/princess-fresh-prince-brings-history-children Hey, remember Hilary Banks from <em>Fresh Prince of Bel-Air</em>?<p>She's back, but in a different light. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 NPR Staff 37941 at http://wnku.org Princess Of 'Fresh Prince' Brings History To Children Pope Reportedly Says That 1 In 50 Clergy Are Pedophiles http://wnku.org/post/pope-reportedly-says-1-50-clergy-are-pedophiles Calling the church sex abuse scandal a "leprosy in our house," Pope Francis tells an Italian newspaper that 1 in 50 Catholic clerics are pedophiles.<p>In an interview with Eugenio Scalfari<em>, </em>the 90-year-old founder of<em> <em>La Repubblica</em></em>, Francis is quoted as saying that advisers in the Church "reassure me" that the problem amounts to "about 2 percent."<p>"This data should hearten me but I have to tell you that it does not hearten me at all. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 37940 at http://wnku.org Pope Reportedly Says That 1 In 50 Clergy Are Pedophiles Germany Wins World Cup Over Argentina With Late-Game Goal http://wnku.org/post/world-cup-final-germany-versus-argentina In a tense match that saw a lot of action but no score for more than 90 minutes of play, Germany was finally victorious over Argentina to take home the 2014 World Cup title on Sunday with a 1-0 win.<p>In a game that at times seemed more like a rugby match or WWE bout — with head injuries, flying knees and even an eye rake — both teams displayed hardy defenses and a hungry offense.<p>Two early opportunities from Argentina's Gonzalo Higuain failed to put them on scoreboard. One sailed wide, but the other found the back of the net only for Higuain to be called offsides. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 18:43:00 +0000 editor 37939 at http://wnku.org Germany Wins World Cup Over Argentina With Late-Game Goal WATCH: Russian Beachgoers Caught In Surprise Hailstorm http://wnku.org/post/watch-russian-beachgoers-caught-surprise-hailstorm Bathers at a beach in Novosibirsk, central Russia, went from a stifling 105F to 71F in a matter of seconds as a cold front swept over them, dropping what is described as golf-ball sized hail.<p>The freak storm was captured on video (above).<p><a href="http://www.telegraph.co.uk/topics/weather/10964493/Freak-hail-storm-hits-beach-goers.html"><em>The Telegraph</em> says:</a><p><blockquote><p>"Some people can be seen screaming and running for the cover of beach umbrellas as the hail storm intensifies, while some chose to stay in the water and one brave person sheltered under their beach towel.<p> Sun, 13 Jul 2014 18:16:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 37937 at http://wnku.org WATCH: Russian Beachgoers Caught In Surprise Hailstorm Palestinians Seek Shelter At Supply-Strapped U.N. Schools http://wnku.org/post/palestinians-seek-shelter-supply-strapped-un-schools Residents in Northern Gaza have been fleeing their homes in <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/13/331122214/palestinians-flee-gaza-after-israel-drops-warning-leaflets">anticipation of a new Israeli assault</a>, as the exchange of Hamas rockets and Israeli airstrikes enters its sixth day. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 18:14:00 +0000 Emily Harris 37938 at http://wnku.org Palestinians Seek Shelter At Supply-Strapped U.N. Schools Conductor Lorin Maazel, Who Brought America To The Podium, Dies http://wnku.org/post/conductor-lorin-maazel-who-brought-america-podium-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esL_i0nFBaA</p> Sun, 13 Jul 2014 17:41:00 +0000 editor 37936 at http://wnku.org Conductor Lorin Maazel, Who Brought America To The Podium, Dies Antares Blasts Off On ISS Supply Mission http://wnku.org/post/antares-ready-blast-iss-supply-mission <strong>This post was updated at 2:05 p.m. ET.</strong><p>Private space venture <a href="https://twitter.com/OrbitalSciences">Orbital Sciences Corp.</a> launched its second resupply mission to the International Space Station in <a href="http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/station/structure/launch/orbital.html#.U8LKcEAmWYk">a perfect launch from at Wallops Island, Va, after several delays.</a><p>The Antares rocket, carrying an unmanned Cygnus resupply capsule packed with 3,293 lbs. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 16:28:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 37935 at http://wnku.org Antares Blasts Off On ISS Supply Mission 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' http://wnku.org/post/without-tommy-theres-no-ramones Punk rock music has lost one of its earliest pioneers.<p>Tommy Ramone <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/12/330893277/tommy-ramone-last-original-member-of-the-ramones-dies-at-62">died of cancer on Friday</a> at his home in Queens, N.Y. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 37934 at http://wnku.org 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' Desmond Tutu Backs Britain's 'Assisted Dying' Bill http://wnku.org/post/desmond-tutu-backs-britains-assisted-dying-bill Retired Anglican bishop Desmond Tutu, who describes as "disgraceful" the way former South African President Nelson Mandela was treated in his last, enfeebled days, has thrown his support behind a British assisted-dying bill.<p>"I have been fortunate to spend my life working for dignity for the living. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 13:55:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 37933 at http://wnku.org Desmond Tutu Backs Britain's 'Assisted Dying' Bill Richard Reed Parry Turns Musicians Into Metronomes http://wnku.org/post/richard-reed-parry-turns-musicians-metronomes Richard Reed Parry is famous for making music sound big. As a core member of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16334660/arcade-fire" target="_blank">Arcade Fire</a>, the Grammy-winning indie rock group from Montreal, he wields multiple instruments to help create deep, layered textures in which strings and synthesizers, slow ballads and disco dance tracks are all at home.<p>Parry's first solo album is a departure even from that broad sound. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 13:52:00 +0000 NPR Staff 37932 at http://wnku.org Richard Reed Parry Turns Musicians Into Metronomes