Music http://wnku.org en Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 http://wnku.org/post/ryan-adams-live-concert-newport-folk-festival-2014 <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14953534/ryan-adams">Ryan Adams</a> used to be the picture of ramshackle prolificacy — a man with <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15394157/prince">Prince</a>'s desire to flood the market with product, not to mention an equally slippery grip on the quality-control lever. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:48:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 38259 at http://wnku.org Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 Hamilton Leithauser: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/hamilton-leithauser-tiny-desk-concert This is the second time <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/312175306/hamilton-leithauser-live-in-concert">Hamilton Leithauser</a> has graced the Tiny Desk. Two summers ago, he and his band <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15291595/the-walkmen">The Walkmen</a> played <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/157190242/the-walkmen-tiny-desk-concert">a powerful set of songs</a> from their final album for now, <em>Heaven. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:39:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 38225 at http://wnku.org Hamilton Leithauser: Tiny Desk Concert Unlocking The Eclectic: A Conversation With Shabazz Palaces' Ishmael Butler http://wnku.org/post/unlocking-eclectic-conversation-shabazz-palaces-ishmael-butler <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFGLQe65Abg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tk9e7FG2ww</p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 21:31:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38203 at http://wnku.org Unlocking The Eclectic: A Conversation With Shabazz Palaces' Ishmael Butler A Guitar Hero Draws His Own Sketches Of Spain http://wnku.org/post/guitar-hero-draws-his-own-sketches-spain If you're a classical guitarist, it may be impossible to resist the pull of one iconic piece: the <em>Concierto de Aranjuez</em> by Spanish composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/98281968/joaquin-rodrigo" target="_blank">Joaquín Rodrigo</a>. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 09:04:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38182 at http://wnku.org A Guitar Hero Draws His Own Sketches Of Spain Rainbow In The Dark: Jenny Lewis On Staring Down Sadness http://wnku.org/post/rainbow-dark-jenny-lewis-staring-down-sadness <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Irvcf6dCk-k</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:05:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38179 at http://wnku.org Rainbow In The Dark: Jenny Lewis On Staring Down Sadness Marisa Ronstadt, Cousin Of Linda, Spans Genres For 'Moon' http://wnku.org/post/marisa-ronstadt-cousin-linda-spans-genres-moon Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>Marisa Ronstadt bears a musical name but she has her own style, which seems to be a mix of Mariachi, Classic Rock, Soul, R&B, Indie Pop - maybe she'll fill in any that we've missed. She's played music since she was seven and has her own band now "Marisa Ronstadt And The Know-It-All's." Their debut album is "Blueberry Moon." It's out now - let's hear a little.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "BLUEBERRY MOON")<p>MARISA RONSTADT AND THE KNOW-IT-ALLS: (Singing) Baby you're on your way. Ain't no stopping you, your here to stay. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 12:11:00 +0000 editor 38163 at http://wnku.org Marisa Anderson: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/marisa-anderson-tiny-desk-concert <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/243191229/marisa-anderson">Marisa Anderson</a> knows where American guitar music has been and where it is now, and probably possesses an inkling of where it can go. She's studied the history and musical nuance of blues, country and folk music through and through, and ingests it all in a style that's as raw as it true. But mostly, Anderson just wants to kick up some dirt — which isn't easy here, given that the NPR Music offices are relatively clean. (Mind the towering stacks of CDs, though. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Lars Gotrich 38162 at http://wnku.org Marisa Anderson: Tiny Desk Concert Fred Hersch Floats On, With A Dynamic Trio In Tow http://wnku.org/post/fred-hersch-floats-dynamic-trio-tow The last time <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14997031/fred-hersch" target="_blank">Fred Hersch</a> was featured on <em>Weekend Edition Saturday</em>, the headline read, "Back On Stage By No Small Miracle." It was 2009, and scarcely a year earlier, the jazz pianist had suffered AIDS-related dementia and fallen into a coma for several months. Since recovering, Hersch has come roaring back to music, releasing a string of live albums to critical success.<em></em><p>A new studio recording by Hersch's trio came out earlier this month; it's called <em>Floating</em>. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 06:03:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38156 at http://wnku.org Fred Hersch Floats On, With A Dynamic Trio In Tow 'Live In The Present': Charlie Haden Remembered http://wnku.org/post/live-present-charlie-haden-remembered <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkudQrnQFHc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8eMfc6TjoA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeNMnMY9VWE</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:54:00 +0000 editor 38135 at http://wnku.org 'Live In The Present': Charlie Haden Remembered She's Got A Perfect Afro — And A Melodious Vision For African Musicians http://wnku.org/post/shes-got-perfect-afro-and-melodious-vision-african-musicians In February, Ethiopian-born singer Meklit Hadero was flying home from Uganda to the U.S. when her plane had to land unexpectedly near the Arctic Circle. It was so cold that to keep her fingers warm she put on oven mitts (decorated with an African print) that she'd bought to bring home.<p>A fellow passenger introduced himself: Leelai Demoz, he's Ethiopian, too. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 16:02:00 +0000 editor 38095 at http://wnku.org She's Got A Perfect Afro — And A Melodious Vision For African Musicians