Russell Lewis http://wnku.org en Minor Leaguer Takes Mature Strides To Become Better http://wnku.org/post/minor-leaguer-takes-mature-strides-become-better Tyler Saladino is one of thousands of minor league baseball players hoping to make it to the major leagues. He plays in Alabama for the Birmingham Barons, the AA affiliate of the Chicago White Sox. Last year, <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/06/14/154929453/a-minor-leaguers-life-bats-games-and-a-nickname%20">NPR profiled Saladino</a>. But since then, maybe things have changed for the 23-year-old infielder.<p>One of the biggest changes this year is where the Barons and Saladino play. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 07:27:00 +0000 Russell Lewis 23908 at http://wnku.org Minor Leaguer Takes Mature Strides To Become Better Old Newspapers Shed New Light On Emmett Till Murder http://wnku.org/post/archival-find-could-shed-new-light-emmett-till-murder New details about one of Mississippi's most infamous murders are coming to light — more than a half-century later. The death of Emmett Till, a 14-year-old black boy who allegedly whistled at a white woman, helped spark the civil rights movement.<p>Till lived in Chicago, and was visiting his relatives in the Mississippi Delta when he was murdered. His body was mutilated and dumped into a river. The accused were the woman's husband and her half-brother, and their trial drew reporters from both the white and black press.<p>Researchers have long studied the court proceedings. Sun, 31 Mar 2013 09:39:00 +0000 Russell Lewis 21399 at http://wnku.org Old Newspapers Shed New Light On Emmett Till Murder In Alaska's Iditarod Sled Race, Vets Are A Dog's Best Friend http://wnku.org/post/alaskas-iditarod-sled-race-vets-are-dogs-best-friend In Anchorage, Alaska, on Saturday, the "Last Great Race on Earth" begins.<p>Sixty-seven sled dog teams will start the 998-mile Iditarod race across the barren, frigid and unforgiving land. In this year's competition, there are a handful of first-time racers — but those aren't the only rookies.<p>One is veterinarian Greg Reppas, whose job is to ensure the dogs are healthy throughout the race.<p>Days before the race, Reppas squats in a snowdrift in Wasilla and checks out Leo, one of the 16 dogs on this team that will start the Iditarod. Sat, 02 Mar 2013 11:05:00 +0000 Russell Lewis 20442 at http://wnku.org In Alaska's Iditarod Sled Race, Vets Are A Dog's Best Friend A Father Humbled By The Too-Short Life Of His Daughter http://wnku.org/post/father-humbled-too-short-life-his-daughter <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4rwdriJpkc</p> Sun, 16 Dec 2012 13:11:00 +0000 Russell Lewis 18040 at http://wnku.org A Father Humbled By The Too-Short Life Of His Daughter Wearing Helmets In Tornadoes Gains Momentum http://wnku.org/post/wearing-helmets-tornadoes-gains-momentum Months after safety advocates embraced wearing helmets during tornadoes — the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2012/s0503_helmets_tornadoes.html">issued guidelines</a> on the practice. The CDC says there's not yet enough scientific evidence to fully endorse the idea. Sat, 12 May 2012 10:19:00 +0000 Russell Lewis 10664 at http://wnku.org Wearing Helmets In Tornadoes Gains Momentum Can Helmets Cut Tornado Deaths? CDC Isn't So Sure http://wnku.org/post/can-helmets-cut-tornado-deaths-cdc-isnt-so-sure <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Njt1kIToQD0</p> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 06:48:00 +0000 Russell Lewis 10136 at http://wnku.org Can Helmets Cut Tornado Deaths? CDC Isn't So Sure Tornado Tech: What If Dorothy Had A Smartphone? http://wnku.org/post/tornado-tech-what-if-dorothy-had-smartphone For many, the only way they learn a tornado is approaching are sirens. In the spring and summer, tornado sirens go off a lot more when twisters roar across Alabama, which has been hit by 900 since 2000, accounting for a quarter of all U.S. Tue, 13 Mar 2012 20:58:00 +0000 Russell Lewis 8474 at http://wnku.org Tornado Tech: What If Dorothy Had A Smartphone?