David Greene http://wnku.org en Tourism Money Flows Into Cuba, Bringing Economic Hopes And Fears http://wnku.org/post/tourism-money-flows-cuba-bringing-economic-hopes-and-fears Every morning, Manuel Landin Rodriguez walks past the luxurious state-owned Xanadu Mansion hotel and crosses its neatly trimmed golf course all the way to its edge. He camps out on the cliff overlooking the turquoise Caribbean waters that make the resort town of Varadero on Cuba's northern coast so famous.<p>Landin, a retired physical education teacher, comes to the spot to fish. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 07:17:00 +0000 David Greene 37293 at http://wnku.org Tourism Money Flows Into Cuba, Bringing Economic Hopes And Fears Cuba's Mariel Port: Once An Escape, Now A Window To The Future http://wnku.org/post/cubas-mariel-port-once-escape-now-window-future When you arrive at the Jose Marti International Airport in Havana, you're greeted with a barrage of billboards with the popular Cuban government slogan promoting tourism: "Cuba, where the past and the present converge."<p>Perhaps nowhere on the island is that statement more true than in the city of Mariel, about 30 miles from Havana on the northwestern coast.<p>Mariel port is strategically located at the mouth of the Gulf of Mexico, facing the United States. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 07:29:00 +0000 David Greene & Jasmine Garsd 37244 at http://wnku.org Cuba's Mariel Port: Once An Escape, Now A Window To The Future Cuba's Budding Entrepreneurs Travel A Rocky Road Toward Success http://wnku.org/post/cubas-budding-entrepreneurs-travel-rocky-road-toward-success When Americans think of business in Cuba, they think of government-owned enterprise. And the vast majority of Cubans do work for the state.<p>But in recent years, private business owners known as <em>cuentapropistas</em> have flourished on the island.<p><em>Cuentapropismo</em> literally means "on your own account." As far back as the 1970s, Fidel Castro was talking about how socialism and small business ownership could coexist. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 07:40:00 +0000 David Greene 37197 at http://wnku.org Cuba's Budding Entrepreneurs Travel A Rocky Road Toward Success Objects Spotted In Indian Ocean Possibly Linked To Missing Jet http://wnku.org/post/objects-spotted-indian-ocean-possibly-linked-missing-jet Australian officials say they are searching the Indian Ocean southwest of Perth after satellite images found objects that are possibly connected to Malaysia Airlines Flight 370. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 David Greene 33604 at http://wnku.org Sen. Durbin Says U.S. Is Ready To Provide Nonlethal Aid To Ukraine http://wnku.org/post/ukraine-sen-durbin-says-us-ready-provide-nonlethal-aid Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene.<p>Just before residents of Crimea voted to break away from Ukraine and join Russia, a group of U.S. senators visited Kiev. They were showing support for Ukraine's new government, and also offering U.S. help. Among them was Illinois Democrat Richard Durbin. We reached him by phone in Chicago, and asked if the U.S. and Europe have to accept that Crimea is now part of Russia.<p>SENATOR RICHARD DURBIN: I don't accept that. I don't think we should. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 08:44:00 +0000 David Greene 33523 at http://wnku.org Clothing Retailer Lands End To Split From Sears http://wnku.org/post/clothing-retailer-lands-end-split-sears Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news begins with a split for Lands' End.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>GREENE: Lands' End, the outdoor clothing retailer, will spin off from Sears Holdings Corporation next month and operate as a standalone, publicly traded company.<p>In its amended filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission, Lands' End said stakeholders and Sears will receive about .3 shares of Lands' End Common Stock. Sears sales have declined since it combined with K-Mart in 2005. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 10:27:00 +0000 David Greene 33484 at http://wnku.org Negotiators Gather In Vienna For Talks On Iran's Nukes http://wnku.org/post/negotiators-gather-vienna-talks-irans-nukes With the clock ticking on a six-month deal to limit Iran's nuclear program in exchange for easing economic sanctions, negotiators from Iran and world powers meet this week in Vienna. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 David Greene 33479 at http://wnku.org For Foster The People Frontman, Fame And Isolation http://wnku.org/post/foster-people-frontman-fame-then-isolation Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "PUMPED UP SUP KICK")<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>A few years ago, this song came out of nowhere, "Pumped Up Kicks" from Foster The People, an unsigned band from L.A. It became one of 2011's biggest hits.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "PUMPED UP SUP KICK")<p>FOSTER THE PEOPLE: (Singing) All the other kids with the pumped up kicks, you better run, better run, outrun my gun. All the other...<p>GREENE: Song, as you can hear, has a summer party sound. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 David Greene 33474 at http://wnku.org Broken Bells: Life 'After The Disco' http://wnku.org/post/broken-bells-life-after-disco <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhBewKu80Mg</p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 07:02:00 +0000 David Greene 32026 at http://wnku.org Broken Bells: Life 'After The Disco' Supreme Court Declines To Consider Arizona Abortion Law http://wnku.org/post/supreme-court-declines-consider-arizona-abortion-law Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And some news from the Supreme Court this morning: The justices have decided not to intervene in a legal battle over abortion in the state of Arizona. Earlier, an appeals court said the state's law banning most abortions after 20 weeks was unconstitutional. The high court's decision today not to review the case effectively blocks that ban from coming into place in Arizona.<p>NPR's Julie Rovner joins us to talk about the implications of this. Mon, 13 Jan 2014 17:19:00 +0000 David Greene 31267 at http://wnku.org