Mike Pesca http://wnku.org en 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl http://wnku.org/post/5-points-help-simplify-sundays-super-bowl The chatter, hype and jargon in the weeks leading up to Sunday's Super Bowl XLVIII is more impenetrable than the Seahawk's secondary.<p>Perhaps you've heard the Seattle Seahawks have a running back who enters "Beast Mode." Maybe you've heard that the Denver Broncos' counter to Beast Mode is a defensive lineman <a href="http://sports.yahoo.com/news/from--beast-mode--to--pot-roast--to--pig---a-primer-on-super-bowl-nicknames-011914808.html">nicknamed</a> "Pot Roast."<p>Vociferously debating Beast Mode versus Pot Roast is no longer the exclusive domain of a <a href="http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Su Sun, 02 Feb 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 31969 at http://wnku.org 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' http://wnku.org/post/fetch-clay-make-man-ali-fetchit-and-anchor-punch ---<p>Muhammad Ali's first title defense, a first-round TKO of Sonny Liston in 1965, <a href="http://life.time.com/icons/muhammad-ali-sonny-liston-and-the-phantom-punch-title-bout-1965/#1" target="_blank">propelled Ali to the status of icon</a>. In Ali's training camp before the fight was an icon from an earlier era: Lincoln Perry. He was the first African-American movie star, who went by the stage name Stepin Fetchi. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 20:36:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 28174 at http://wnku.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year http://wnku.org/post/what-make-tiger-woods-major-less-year By the standard of normal golfing mortals, Tiger Woods has had an incredible summer. He's won multiple tournaments and millions of dollars in prize money. What he didn't do was win any of golf's four major championships, and that has led some to write off Woods' 2013 as a failure.<p>He's had the most top 10 finishes on the PGA tour this year, but for him, that's not the measure of success. Woods has won more money on the tour than any of his peers, but for him, money isn't the measure. Woods has won five tournaments this year; the next closest competitor has only two wins. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 26484 at http://wnku.org What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year Not Even Instant Replay Could Prevent These Bad Calls http://wnku.org/post/not-even-instant-replay-could-prevent-these-bad-calls Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Major League Baseball has admitted that umpires have made some big mistakes in the last few days. On Wednesday, umpires ruled even after looking at television replays that Adam Rosales of the Oakland A's hit a double. The ball clearly left the park with the game on the line. And last night in Houston, umps botched a fairly simple rule about pitchers. NPR's Mike Pesca joins us now to second-guess the men in black. And, Mike, everyone makes mistakes, right, even umpires. Fri, 10 May 2013 21:23:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 22759 at http://wnku.org Always In The Zone, Syracuse Is Hard To Beat http://wnku.org/post/always-zone-syracuse-hard-beat Any recreational league basketball team, any police athletic league squad and every group of 8-year-olds who wear the same uniform are, on the first or second day of practice, introduced to the <a href="http://www.ducksters.com/sports/basketball/team_defense.php">2-3 zone defense</a>.<p>The coach will say, "On defense, you two short guys stay near the foul line, and you three bigger kids, you go down near the basket. Sat, 06 Apr 2013 15:46:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 21605 at http://wnku.org Always In The Zone, Syracuse Is Hard To Beat Deflections: The Unofficial Stat That Measures Success http://wnku.org/post/deflections-unofficial-stat-measures-success The Louisville Cardinals are among the teams dominating at this year's men's Division 1 NCAA basketball tournament, which resumes Thursday night. The team credits harassing, active defense for its wins.<p>But there's something else at work, too: deflections. The team puts a lot of stock in them, though deflections aren't an officially tracked statistic.<p>The way Mario Batali thinks about black truffles, the penchant Quentin Tarantino has for quoting Hong Kong martial arts films in his own movies — that's the way University of Louisville coach Rick Pitino talks about deflections. Thu, 28 Mar 2013 07:44:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 21308 at http://wnku.org Deflections: The Unofficial Stat That Measures Success Super Bowl Cheat Sheet: Key Phrases To Keep You In The Game http://wnku.org/post/super-bowl-cheat-sheet-key-phrases-keep-you-game Sure, you can go to a Super Bowl party and be That Guy. The one who gleefully lectures the crowd on the merits of running the inverted veer out of the pistol in order to freeze the weak-side backer.<p>Or you could be That Other Guy, who nervously stabs tuna rolls into a football made of wasabi, and hopes no one asks which Harbaugh is which. Sun, 03 Feb 2013 10:28:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 19473 at http://wnku.org Super Bowl Cheat Sheet: Key Phrases To Keep You In The Game How Do You Solve A Problem Like Colin Kaepernick? http://wnku.org/post/how-do-you-solve-problem-colin-kaepernick There's always a question surrounding San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick. Years ago, people wondered whether the talented athlete would be good enough to start in college.<p>Then there was the question of what role he would play in the NFL. And after the 49ers took him, fans questioned whether he could throw enough to be more than a backup.<p>Now, the only question is: How do you stop Colin Kaepernick? The second-year quarterback out of Nevada is making just his 10th NFL start and is perhaps the most important player in the Super Bowl. Thu, 31 Jan 2013 08:17:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 19371 at http://wnku.org How Do You Solve A Problem Like Colin Kaepernick? Hard Lessons At the Olympics, Like The Metric System http://wnku.org/post/hard-lessons-olympics-metric-system Olympic winners like gold medalist Claressa Shields have said the games were a learning experience, but what were they learning? Hard work? Sure. Sportsmanship? Maybe. The metric system? Certainly not.<p>U.S. judo competitor Kyle Vashkulat competes at 100 kg, which he knows means he weighs 220 lbs. Sun, 12 Aug 2012 20:29:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 14022 at http://wnku.org Hard Lessons At the Olympics, Like The Metric System Boxing Maths and Aftermaths: Why Similar Scores Are A Mean System http://wnku.org/post/boxing-maths-and-aftermaths-why-similar-scores-are-mean-system Four years ago, Irish boxer Paddy Barnes lost to China's Zou Shiming by a score of 15-0 in Beijing. Today in London, Barnes fought his way back into their match to tie Zou at 15-15 — but he still lost. Fri, 10 Aug 2012 15:16:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 13939 at http://wnku.org Boxing Maths and Aftermaths: Why Similar Scores Are A Mean System