Steve Hirschberg http://wnku.org en New Mapguide Lists Food Destinations in Eastern KY http://wnku.org/post/new-mapguide-lists-food-destinations-eastern-ky <p>In an effort to bring more tourists to Eastern Kentucky, the Appalachian Regional Commission has developed a mapguide that includes 48 food destinations in the&nbsp;region. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg talked with Scottie Ellis, Communications Manager for the Kentucky Department of Travel and Tourism.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:32:00 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 38423 at http://wnku.org New Mapguide Lists Food Destinations in Eastern KY Cranley Creates Task Force on Immigration http://wnku.org/post/cranley-creates-task-force-immigration <p>Cincinnati Mayor John Cranley has set up a task force on immigration. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg reports.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:11:05 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 38407 at http://wnku.org Cranley Creates Task Force on Immigration Ohio State Fair Features Traditional Butter Sculptures http://wnku.org/post/ohio-state-fair-features-traditional-butter-sculptures <p>The annual Ohio State Fair opens today in Columbus; and, as always, one of its most popular exhibits is likely to be the butter sculptures, a tradition that dates back more than a century. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg&nbsp;talked about this year's culinary works of art with The American Dairy Association's Jenny Hubble. &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 10:32:00 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 38272 at http://wnku.org Ohio State Fair Features Traditional Butter Sculptures Children's, Freestore Provide Nourishment for Babies http://wnku.org/post/childrens-freestore-provide-nourishment-babies <p>The Freestore Foodbank and Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center have teamed up to help improve nutrition and health for infants from low-income families. The program is called KIND. That acronym stands for Keeping Infants Nourished and Developing. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg reports.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>The FreeStore&nbsp;Foodbank&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 15:32:39 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 38214 at http://wnku.org Children's, Freestore Provide Nourishment for Babies Annual Dayton Blues Festival Takes Place This Sunday http://wnku.org/post/annual-dayton-blues-festival-takes-place-sunday <p>Dayton's 29th annual Blues Festival takes place this Sunday afternoon and evening in the heart of the city's downtown. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg asked Lamont&nbsp;Hall Jr., Events Coordinator for&nbsp;Dayton's Recreation Youth Services, how the event got started.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:01:53 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 38091 at http://wnku.org Annual Dayton Blues Festival Takes Place This Sunday Gardner Family Gift to Add New Area to Smale Riverfront Park http://wnku.org/post/gardner-family-gift-add-new-area-smale-riverfront-park <p>A $2.3 million gift from the James and Joan Gardner Family Foundation will add another distinctive area to Cincinnati's Smale Riverfront&nbsp;Park. WNKU's&nbsp;Steve Hirschberg talked with&nbsp;Parks Director Willie Carden about the&nbsp; new area west of the Roebling Suspension Bridge.</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 10:32:00 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 38016 at http://wnku.org Gardner Family Gift to Add New Area to Smale Riverfront Park CSO Extends Access to LumenoCity http://wnku.org/post/cso-extends-access-lumenocity <p>The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra is adding access to the LumenoCity music and light show that takes place in Washington Park during the first three nights of August. The action comes after all the tickets available online last month &nbsp;for the free event&nbsp;were snatched up within minutes. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg talked with CSO President Trey Devey.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:25:36 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 37871 at http://wnku.org CSO Extends Access to LumenoCity CSO Offers More Access to LumenoCity http://wnku.org/post/cso-offers-more-access-lumenocity <p>The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra is expanding access to the LumenoCity music and light show in Washington Park during the first three nights of August. The action comes after all of the free tickets available online last month were snatched up in minutes. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg talked with CSO President Trey Devey.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:34:31 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 37868 at http://wnku.org CSO Offers More Access to LumenoCity Dayton Mayor Begins Meetings in Neighborhoods http://wnku.org/post/dayton-mayor-begins-meetings-neighborhoods <p>Starting tomorrow, Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley is holding a series of community conversations in the city's neighborhoods. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg asked Whaley how the idea came about.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:45:56 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 37770 at http://wnku.org Dayton Mayor Begins Meetings in Neighborhoods Program Tonight Explores Literature, Arts, Music of World War One http://wnku.org/post/program-tonight-explores-literature-arts-music-world-war-one <p>A program tonight at the Mercantile Library in downtown Cincinnati will explore the&nbsp;topic "Literature, Arts and Music of the Great War".&nbsp;It's part of a series of local events commemorating the centennial of the start of the First World War. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg&nbsp; talked about tonight's program with Lily Frierson, who teaches history at the University of Cincinnati.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:53:04 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 37729 at http://wnku.org Program Tonight Explores Literature, Arts, Music of World War One