Steve Hirschberg http://wnku.org en BBB Helps Potential Donors Evaluate Charities http://wnku.org/post/bbb-helps-potential-donors-evaluate-charities <p>Art Taylor, President and CEO of the Better Business&nbsp;Bureau's Wise Giving Alliance, was in Cincinnati yesterday. The alliance monitors charities and compiles reports&nbsp;based on 20 standards that help people make informed decisions on charitable donations. &nbsp;WNKU's Steve Hirschberg asked Taylor to talk about some of the BBB's standards.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:51:39 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34656 at http://wnku.org BBB Helps Potential Donors Evaluate Charities Greenup County Sheriff Warns of Scam http://wnku.org/post/greenup-county-sheriff-warns-scam <p>The sheriff of Greenup County, Kentucky is warning citizens about a new kind of scam that is taking place in his county; and he says similar scams are going on in neighboring areas. Sheriff Keith Cooper talked with WNKU's Steve Hirschberg.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:20:32 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34619 at http://wnku.org Greenup County Sheriff Warns of Scam Reforest NKY Plants Trees http://wnku.org/post/reforest-nky-plants-trees <p>Each year, a program called Reforest Northern Kentucky recruits volunteers to help plant trees in selected areas of Boone, Kenton and Campbell Counties. Mark Leopold,&nbsp;Field Manager for Northern Kentucky University's Center for Environmental&nbsp;Restoration, leads the program, which took place this year on March 29th. Leopold spoke to WNKU's Steve Hirschberg from a cell phone in the middle of the woods in Grant County.</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:50:57 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34402 at http://wnku.org Reforest NKY Plants Trees Luther Dickinson Visits WNKU http://wnku.org/post/luther-dickinson-visits-wnku <p>WNKU often has&nbsp; musicians who come to the station, play on the air and sit down for an interview. Recently, Luther Dickinson, who's best known for being a member of&nbsp; North Mississippi Allstars, was at the station to play from his new solo album, Rock 'n Roll Blues. He talked with WNKU's&nbsp;John Patrick.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 16:00:28 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34358 at http://wnku.org Luther Dickinson Visits WNKU UpDayton Holds Development Summit http://wnku.org/post/updayton-holds-development-summit <p>This Friday, at the Dayton Art Institute, a non-profit organization called UpDayton is holding a development summit. Its purpose is to come up with specific ideas that will help retain talented young professionals in&nbsp;Dayton and attract more of them. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg talked with Executive Director Laura Estandia.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 18:30:13 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34314 at http://wnku.org UpDayton Holds Development Summit Tree Climbing for Recreation http://wnku.org/post/tree-climbing-recreation <p>You may not know it, but tree climbing is an actual sport; and one of the largest recreational tree climbing companies in the&nbsp; world is located in Alexandria, Kentucky. The company, called EarthJoy Tree Adventures, is the subject of an article in the April issue of Cincinnati Magazine. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg talked with Shelly Byrne. She owns the business, along with her husband Bill.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 14:41:44 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34183 at http://wnku.org Tree Climbing for Recreation Shanti to Be Performed at Aronoff Saturday Night http://wnku.org/post/shanti-be-performed-aronoff-saturday-night <p>This Saturday&nbsp; night at the Aronoff Center in downtown Cincinnati, "Shanti:&nbsp;A Journey of Peace" will be performed for the eighth time since its creation a decade ago. Kanniks&nbsp;Kannikeswaran is the award-winning composer and director of Shanti. He spoke with WNKU's Steve Hirschberg.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:59:27 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34152 at http://wnku.org Shanti to Be Performed at Aronoff Saturday Night Creator of Mr. Clean Character for P&G Dies at 92 http://wnku.org/post/creator-mr-clean-character-pg-dies-92 <p>Richard Black, the artist who created the Mr. Clean character for Procter &amp;&nbsp;Gamble, has died in Dayton, Ohio at the age of 92. The Philadelphia&nbsp; native opened his own studio in 1950 and was a longtime educator. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg talked with P&amp;G's&nbsp;Senior Archivist Greg McCoy about the artist and the history of Mr. Clean.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 16:13:17 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34118 at http://wnku.org Creator of Mr. Clean Character for P&G Dies at 92 Reds Fans Pack Streets for Findlay Market Parade http://wnku.org/post/reds-fans-pack-streets-findlay-market-parade <p>Reds fans took advantage of the warmth and sunshine to line the streets of downtown Cincinnati for yesterday's 95th annual Findlay Market Opening Day Parade. WNKU's Steve Hirschberg reports.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 16:31:45 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 34072 at http://wnku.org Reds Fans Pack Streets for Findlay Market Parade Drew Lachey Hosts CincySings http://wnku.org/post/drew-lachey-hosts-cincysings <p></p><p>Entertainer and Cincinnati native Drew Lachey is hosting a competition called CincySings. He tells WNKU’s Steve Hirschberg it’ll be an evening to celebrate the arts and raise awareness for Artswave, the organization that raises money for local arts organizations.</p><p></p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 14:28:55 +0000 Steve Hirschberg 33849 at http://wnku.org Drew Lachey Hosts CincySings