Neda Ulaby http://wnku.org en NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://wnku.org/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:48:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 34560 at http://wnku.org A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://wnku.org/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 32943 at http://wnku.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition http://wnku.org/post/baby-didnt-bump-these-moms-out-competition Let's be clear: Olympians handle the physical challenges of childbirth differently than most of the rest of us.<p>Aretha Thurmond is a discus thrower who'd already competed in two Olympics when she went to the hospital in labor.<p>"So I get there and they're like, 'Yeah, whatever, you're 4 centimeters dilated. Go walk around the hospital and come back,' " she says.<p>Thurmond's hospital was part of a university, so she headed straight for its track, where she power-walked for the next two hours. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 23:44:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 31623 at http://wnku.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://wnku.org/post/amiri-baraka-poet-and-co-founder-black-arts-movement-dies-79 One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:16:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 31165 at http://wnku.org Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters http://wnku.org/post/hollywoods-new-strategy-supporting-chinese-made-blockbusters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZb1bUKJQ0</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:55:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 29696 at http://wnku.org Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://wnku.org/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 28664 at http://wnku.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging http://wnku.org/post/you-borrow-some-libraries-have-go-begging More than 90 percent of Americans say public libraries are important to their communities, according to the Pew Research Center. But the way that love translates into actual financial support varies hugely from state to state.<p>Vermont, for instance, brags that it has more libraries per capita than any other U.S. state. Some of them are remarkably quaint. In Ludlow, one library is a white clapboard Victorian, slightly frayed, ringed by lilies and sitting by the side of a brook.<p>"It's very small," says Julia Baldwin, a volunteer with the local Ladies' Aid society. Mon, 19 Aug 2013 07:07:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 26287 at http://wnku.org For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging As Audiences Shift To Cable, TV Programming Changes, Too http://wnku.org/post/audiences-shift-cable-tv-programming-changes-too <em>Mad Men</em> comes back for its sixth season Sunday at an opportune moment for basic cable. Last weekend, 25 million viewers combined watched <em>The Bible</em> and <em>The Walking Dead</em> on basic cable channels. That's more than triple the audience for <em>The Good Wife</em> on CBS that same night.<p>So are we looking at a convergence between scripted shows on broadcast and cable? It's hard not to wonder, when you see broadcast networks rushing to replicate gruesome death scenes like the ones relished by <em>The Walking Dead</em>'s enviably sizable audience. Fri, 05 Apr 2013 07:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 21564 at http://wnku.org As Audiences Shift To Cable, TV Programming Changes, Too Why Are TV Remotes So Terrible? http://wnku.org/post/why-are-tv-remotes-so-terrible Let's call it the baby sitter's dilemma.<p>If you go to someone's house and pick up the TV remote, chances are, you won't know how it works. You know the situation's bad when even a tech writer who also majored in physics at an Ivy League school is confused by her own TV remote.<p>"It's unbearable to me," moans Ars Technica writer Casey Johnston, of her remote's many <a href="http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/02/smart-tvs-have-a-serious-communication-problem/">cryptic buttons</a>. "Sub.code? Comp/mix? Tue, 26 Mar 2013 07:23:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 21228 at http://wnku.org Why Are TV Remotes So Terrible? Toy Fair: Markers That Don't Blot Walls, Sand Without The Mess http://wnku.org/post/toy-fair-markers-dont-blot-walls-sand-without-mess <em>Toy Fair 2013 in New York started Sunday and runs until Wednesday. NPR's Neda Ulaby had the tough assignment of sizing up the acres of fun offerings. She brings us this report:</em><p>The venerable industry convention <a href="http://www2.toyassociation.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=tf_Home">Toy Fair celebrates its 110<sup>th</sup> anniversary</a> this week. But it might as well be the 1970s or '80s within the great glassy expanse of New York City's Javits Center.<p>Vast acres of displays baldly appeal to the nostalgia of today's 30-to 40-something parents. Mon, 11 Feb 2013 19:00:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 19763 at http://wnku.org Toy Fair: Markers That Don't Blot Walls, Sand Without The Mess