Stephen Thompson http://wnku.org en Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 http://wnku.org/post/ryan-adams-live-concert-newport-folk-festival-2014 Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:48:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 38259 at http://wnku.org Lydia Loveless: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/lydia-loveless-tiny-desk-concert For 23-year-old singer-guitarist <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/search/index.php?searchinput=lydia+loveless">Lydia Loveless</a>, gritty, countrified blues-rock is a palette broad enough to include literary drama — complete with fatalistic references to the doomed French poets Paul Verlaine and Arthur Rimbaud — and a plainspoken plea for oral sex. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:40:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 37486 at http://wnku.org Lydia Loveless: Tiny Desk Concert First Listen: Old Crow Medicine Show, 'Remedy' http://wnku.org/post/first-listen-old-crow-medicine-show-remedy <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15397697/old-crow-medicine-show">Old Crow Medicine Show</a> knows how to attract attention: The Virginia band's big, brash shows are carried off with rollicking energy and a carnival barker's showmanship. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:46:17 +0000 Stephen Thompson 37272 at http://wnku.org First Listen: Old Crow Medicine Show, 'Remedy' Johnnyswim: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/johnnyswim-tiny-desk-concert Once you're able to see this three-song set by the band <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/205552150/johnnyswim-on-mountain-stage">Johnnyswim</a>, NPR Music will have published exactly 350 Tiny Desk Concerts — so we've developed a pretty good sense of when a set will stick in our memories for a while. We intuited, for example, that Adele was about to become a dominant force shortly after she <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/133687905/adele-tiny-desk-concert">breezed into our offices</a>. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 18:18:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 35078 at http://wnku.org Johnnyswim: Tiny Desk Concert Merchandise Sprawls Out In The Sunlight http://wnku.org/post/merchandise-sprawls-out-sunlight Merchandise got its start on the Tampa punk and hardcore scene, then got weirder as artier influences like krautrock took hold. As its sound became harder to pin down, the band inspired an 18-month bidding war between record labels: This year, Merchandise finally signed with 4AD, and adventurous new material has begun to trickle out.<p>A new album arrives later this year, but Merchandise was already previewing it at SXSW last month. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 34650 at http://wnku.org Merchandise Sprawls Out In The Sunlight One Wytch, Unplugged In A Sunny Backyard http://wnku.org/post/one-wytch-unplugged-sunny-backyard The Wytches' furious, hair-flinging psych-rock isn't the stuff of back-porch acoustic sessions: Both live and on the English band's singles, the energy is so intense, it can barely be contained. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:17:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 33899 at http://wnku.org One Wytch, Unplugged In A Sunny Backyard SXSW 2014: Perfect Pussy, Live In Concert http://wnku.org/post/sxsw-2014-perfect-pussy-live-concert Before her band had played a single note, frontwoman Meredith Graves surveyed a thousands-strong crowd packing Stubb's BBQ at NPR Music's 2014 SXSW showcase.<p>"We're Perfect Pussy," she said. "We're terrified."<p>Listening to <em>Say Yes to Love</em>, the band's eight-song, 23-minute speedball of self-assured confrontation, fear is the last thing that springs to mind. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 33626 at http://wnku.org SXSW 2014: Perfect Pussy, Live In Concert SXSW 2014: Eagulls, Live In Concert http://wnku.org/post/sxsw-2014-eagulls-live-concert The Leeds-based post-punk band Eagulls hit the stage at Stubb's BBQ in Austin, Texas, ready to deploy some serrated weaponry. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:38:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 33537 at http://wnku.org SXSW 2014: Eagulls, Live In Concert Suzanne Vega: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/suzanne-vega-tiny-desk-concert In pop-music circles, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15131195/suzanne-vega">Suzanne Vega</a> is known almost entirely for two songs from the late 1980s: the child-abuse ballad "Luka" and a song that launched literally dozens of dance remixes, "Tom's Diner." But Vega has been making vital, inventive music the entire time — much of it folk-based, though her sound has taken many smart detours along the way — and is about to put out her first album of original material in seven years, <em>Tales From the Realm of the Queen of Pentacles</em>. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 19:03:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 32276 at http://wnku.org Suzanne Vega: Tiny Desk Concert 2013: The Year In Tiny Desk Concerts http://wnku.org/post/2013-year-tiny-desk-concerts For weeks now, we've been compiling lists of 2013's best music — <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/bestmusic2013/2013/12/10/249243871/npr-musics-50-favorite-albums-of-2013">favorite albums</a>, <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/bestmusic2013/2013/12/11/249734685/npr-musics-100-favorite-songs-of-2013">favorite songs</a>, individual staff members' personal Top 10 lists and so on. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 15:20:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 30766 at http://wnku.org 2013: The Year In Tiny Desk Concerts