Morning Drive http://wnku.org en National Urban League Conference with V.P.Joe Biden in Cincinnati this week http://wnku.org/post/national-urban-league-conference-vpjoe-biden-cincinnati-week <p>One of the nation’s oldest and largest civil rights organizations begins its annual conference in Cincinnati Wednesday with events all week including an address by Vice President Joe Biden.WNKU's Cheri Lawson reports it’s the first time the <a href="http://nul.iamempowered.com/" target="_blank">National Urban League</a> will gather in southwest Ohio</p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:20:48 +0000 Cheri Lawson 38316 at http://wnku.org National Urban League Conference with V.P.Joe Biden in Cincinnati this week Dan Hicks and the Hot Licks to perform at 20th Century Theater http://wnku.org/post/dan-hicks-and-hot-licks-perform-20th-century-theater <p>Singer-songwriter Dan Hicks has been recognized as an American original with his brand of music he likes to call folk swing. In his 40 plus years as a performer he’s collaborated with artists like Tom Waits, Bette Midler, Willie Nelson and Maria Muldauer to name a few.WNKU’s Cheri Lawson talked with Dan who’ll be performing at the 20<sup>th</sup> Century Theater in Oakley, July 9<sup>th</sup> with the Hot Licks.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 13:25:59 +0000 Cheri Lawson 37680 at http://wnku.org Dan Hicks and the Hot Licks to perform at 20th Century Theater Yonder Mountain String Band to Perform at Moonlite Gardens http://wnku.org/post/yonder-mountain-string-band-perform-moonlite-gardens <p>Yonder Mountain String Band is on tour this summer and &nbsp;scheduled to perform at Cincinnati’s Moonlite Gardens, July 4th.WNKU’s Cheri Lawson talked with YMSB's banjoist Dave Johnston.</p><p></p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 17:50:10 +0000 Cheri Lawson 37532 at http://wnku.org Yonder Mountain String Band to Perform at Moonlite Gardens Oxford,Ohio Ceremonies Mark 50th Anniversary of Freedom Summer http://wnku.org/post/oxfordohio-ceremonies-mark-50th-anniversary-freedom-summer <p>This month marks the 50th anniversary of one of the milestones of the Civil Rights Movement. Cheri Lawson reports on the&nbsp;history and legacy of Freedom Summer with roots in southwest Ohio.<br />&nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 16:21:00 +0000 Cheri Lawson 37072 at http://wnku.org Oxford,Ohio Ceremonies Mark 50th Anniversary of Freedom Summer What Lesson is Archdiocese Teaching with New Catholic School Contract? http://wnku.org/post/what-lesson-archdiocese-teaching-new-catholic-school-contract-0 <p>Some Cincinnatians are planning to gather outside the offices of the Archdiocese of Cincinnati today in support of a teacher who’s leaving the faculty of Purcell-Marian High School after 45 years.</p><p>The resignation of 66-year-old Richard Hague, and today’s rally, are in reaction to the wording of a new contract for Catholic school teachers.WNKU’s Cheri Lawson tells us more about another teacher who will not return in the fall.</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 04:00:37 +0000 Cheri Lawson 35997 at http://wnku.org What Lesson is Archdiocese Teaching with New Catholic School Contract? Southwest Ohio Teachers Form Union in Response to Catholic Schools Contract http://wnku.org/post/southwest-ohio-teachers-form-union-response-catholic-schools-contract <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;Some Catholic school teachers in southwest Ohio have formed a union to represent them. &nbsp;&nbsp;Organizers say they've <a href="http://wnku.org/post/controversial-contract-causes-catholic-school-teachers-consider-options" target="_blank">taken this action in response to</a> a new restrictive employment contract created by the <a href="http://www.catholiccincinnati.org/" target="_blank">Archdiocese of Cincinnati.</a></span></p> Fri, 16 May 2014 09:23:26 +0000 Cheri Lawson 35771 at http://wnku.org Buffalo Killers Release New CD, Heavy Reverie http://wnku.org/post/buffalo-killers-release-new-cd-heavy-reverie <p class="font8" style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt;vertical-align:baseline"><span style="font-size:14.0pt"><a href="http://www.buffalokillers.com/" target="_blank">Buffalo Killers</a> is another homegrown pick from Ohio with lead singers -songwriters Zach and Andrew Gabbard, plus new member Sven Khans and Joey Sebaali . The bands 6<sup>th</sup> album ‘Heavy Reverie” is out on Sun Pedal Records . Heavy Reverie was recorded in Cleveland, Ohio with producer Jim Wirt who’s also &nbsp;produced for Fiona Apple and Incubus to name a few.</span></p><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 16:39:36 +0000 Cheri Lawson 35606 at http://wnku.org Buffalo Killers Release New CD, Heavy Reverie Flying Pig Marathon Brings Runners,Spectators and Lovebirds http://wnku.org/post/flying-pig-marathon-brings-runnersspectators-and-lovebirds <p>One of Cincinnati’s most popular races brought thousands to Cincinnati over the weekend.</p><p> Mon, 05 May 2014 00:30:24 +0000 Cheri Lawson 35317 at http://wnku.org Flying Pig Marathon Brings Runners,Spectators and Lovebirds Controversial Contract Causes Catholic School Teachers to Consider Options http://wnku.org/post/controversial-contract-causes-catholic-school-teachers-consider-options <p>A new employment contract for Catholic school teachers has created controversy and pushed one group to start organizing a labor union.</p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 02:48:12 +0000 Cheri Lawson 35058 at http://wnku.org Controversial Contract Causes Catholic School Teachers to Consider Options Psychologist Dr Richard Sears Teaches Mindfulness to Help Relieve Stress http://wnku.org/post/psychologist-dr-richard-sears-teaches-mindfulness-help-relieve-stress-0 <p>Ongoing stress and anxiety can be a challenge. A Cincinnati psychologist recommends &nbsp;mindfulness as a powerful tool to help.</p><p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 15:26:26 +0000 Cheri Lawson 35461 at http://wnku.org Psychologist Dr Richard Sears Teaches Mindfulness to Help Relieve Stress