NPR Staff http://wnku.org en Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead? http://wnku.org/post/net-neutrality-shall-i-compare-thee-highway-showerhead <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCUg5A-ZAw0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou9S3wrHg8c</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:35:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38241 at http://wnku.org Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead? The Youth Unemployment Crisis Hits African-Americans Hardest http://wnku.org/post/youth-unemployment-crisis-hits-african-americans-hardest Young people are being chased out of the labor market. Though the national unemployment rate has fallen steadily in recent months, youth unemployment remains stubbornly high, and the jobless rate is even higher among young minorities. For young people between the ages of 16 and 24, unemployment is more than twice the national rate, at 14.2 percent. For African-Americans, that rate jumps to 21.4 percent.<p>Of course, discrimination could be a factor. But according to William Spriggs, an economist at Howard University, the trend is also being driven by a sluggish economy. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 09:27:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38206 at http://wnku.org Unlocking The Eclectic: A Conversation With Shabazz Palaces' Ishmael Butler http://wnku.org/post/unlocking-eclectic-conversation-shabazz-palaces-ishmael-butler <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFGLQe65Abg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tk9e7FG2ww</p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 21:31:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38203 at http://wnku.org Unlocking The Eclectic: A Conversation With Shabazz Palaces' Ishmael Butler A Guitar Hero Draws His Own Sketches Of Spain http://wnku.org/post/guitar-hero-draws-his-own-sketches-spain If you're a classical guitarist, it may be impossible to resist the pull of one iconic piece: the <em>Concierto de Aranjuez</em> by Spanish composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/98281968/joaquin-rodrigo" target="_blank">JoaquĆ­n Rodrigo</a>. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 09:04:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38182 at http://wnku.org A Guitar Hero Draws His Own Sketches Of Spain Rainbow In The Dark: Jenny Lewis On Staring Down Sadness http://wnku.org/post/rainbow-dark-jenny-lewis-staring-down-sadness <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Irvcf6dCk-k</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:05:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38179 at http://wnku.org Rainbow In The Dark: Jenny Lewis On Staring Down Sadness Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It http://wnku.org/post/learning-love-ocean-after-lifetime-fearing-it Tim Bomba is a tall, rangy guy with a quick smile and a penchant for off-color jokes. He's a marathoner, a triathlete (he's done two Ironman races), and every Wednesday morning for the last decade, Bomba has taught a ocean swimming course in Santa Monica, Calif.<p>The course, called Ocean 101, isn't for accomplished swimmers like Bomba. It's for people who are new to the ocean, and many participants are afraid of the water when they arrive. Bomba knows what they're going through. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:05:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38180 at http://wnku.org Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It Fred Hersch Floats On, With A Dynamic Trio In Tow http://wnku.org/post/fred-hersch-floats-dynamic-trio-tow The last time <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14997031/fred-hersch" target="_blank">Fred Hersch</a> was featured on <em>Weekend Edition Saturday</em>, the headline read, "Back On Stage By No Small Miracle." It was 2009, and scarcely a year earlier, the jazz pianist had suffered AIDS-related dementia and fallen into a coma for several months. Since recovering, Hersch has come roaring back to music, releasing a string of live albums to critical success.<em></em><p>A new studio recording by Hersch's trio came out earlier this month; it's called <em>Floating</em>. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 06:03:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38156 at http://wnku.org Fred Hersch Floats On, With A Dynamic Trio In Tow QUIZ: Which Of These State Fair Foods Are Faux? http://wnku.org/post/quiz-which-these-state-fair-foods-are-faux It is the season of state fairs, when you may have a chance to expand your palate or test your gag reflex at the concession stands. (Once you're stuffed, maybe you'll get to admire a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2013/01/11/169085074/this-butter-sculpture-could-power-a-farm-for-3-days">butter sculpture</a>.)<p>If it can be dipped in batter or put on a stick, someone is probably trying to sell it on a fairground. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:55:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38120 at http://wnku.org QUIZ: Which Of These State Fair Foods Are Faux? Amid A 'Shimmering' Tension, A Walk Through Israel And The West Bank http://wnku.org/post/amid-shimmering-tension-walk-through-israel-and-west-bank Not long ago, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Paul Salopek traveled through Israel and the West Bank as part of his journey walking from Africa to South America. He was there this spring, before the current violence erupted. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 07:32:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38081 at http://wnku.org Amid A 'Shimmering' Tension, A Walk Through Israel And The West Bank Calorie Counting Machine May Make Dieting Easier In The Future http://wnku.org/post/calorie-counting-machine-may-make-dieting-easier-future Part of losing weight boils down to making tweaks to the simple equation of calories in versus calories out.<p>Americans spend over $60 billion a year on diet and weight loss products, according to <a href="https://www.marketresearch.com/Marketdata-Enterprises-Inc-v416/Weight-Loss-Status-Forecast-8016030/">market research</a>, but the weight often comes right back. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 12:48:00 +0000 NPR Staff 37996 at http://wnku.org Calorie Counting Machine May Make Dieting Easier In The Future