Bob Boilen http://wnku.org en John Grant: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/john-grant-tiny-desk-concert John Grant's songs don't mess around: The music isn't complicated, while the lyrics function as darts of retort and thought. His album <em>Pale Green Ghosts</em> is decorated with synthesizers, his voice often drenched in reverb; those tools and textures help make the record strong and everlasting.<p>So when Grant came to the Tiny Desk with just an acoustic guitarist — and wanted to play piano himself — I feared that the power of the songs I'd come to love wouldn't translate amid such bare sounds. I was wrong, and his music was just right. The lyrics rush forward and hit hard. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37927 at http://wnku.org John Grant: Tiny Desk Concert Pattern Is Movement, 'Suckling' http://wnku.org/post/pattern-movement-suckling <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5RZtiy0jI0</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37834 at http://wnku.org Pattern Is Movement, 'Suckling' Kim Deal & Morgan Nagler, 'Range On Castle' http://wnku.org/post/kim-deal-morgan-nagler-range-castle <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NF0DkVkWEH0</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37809 at http://wnku.org Kim Deal & Morgan Nagler, 'Range On Castle' Nicole Atkins, 'Who Killed The Moonlight?' http://wnku.org/post/nicole-atkins-who-killed-moonlight <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Of_VVSi2TE</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37771 at http://wnku.org Nicole Atkins, 'Who Killed The Moonlight?' Bear's Den, 'Elysium' http://wnku.org/post/bears-den-elysium Sometimes music and life intersect in ways beyond words. Filmmaker James Marcus Haney set out to do two things, make a music video for the British trio Bear's Den and capture the last days of his little brothers carefree college days with friends.<p>What he wound up with is tragic and poignant. Shortly after arriving in Seattle to film, a campus shooting occurred. Haney relayed his story to me via email. He's as good with words as he is with imagery. I'm going to let him tell the story.<p><blockquote><p>"'Elysium' was one of those tracks that became very personal to me very quickly. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 19:48:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37697 at http://wnku.org Bear's Den, 'Elysium' Moon Hooch: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/moon-hooch-tiny-desk-concert People ask me all the time to name my favorite Tiny Desk Concert. It's my desk and I've seen almost all of the nearly 400 concerts up close. So you'd think this would be easy. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37694 at http://wnku.org Moon Hooch: Tiny Desk Concert Hospitality, 'I Miss Your Bones' http://wnku.org/post/hospitality-i-miss-your-bones "I Miss Your Bones," from Hospitality's album Trouble, is easily one of the catchiest songs of the year. In its video, director Lara Gallagher looks at what missing someone means in this digital age. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 12:51:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37473 at http://wnku.org Hospitality, 'I Miss Your Bones' Prom Body: 'Guttuggering' http://wnku.org/post/prom-body-guttuggering <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJNClrHwSxk</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:53:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37349 at http://wnku.org Prom Body: 'Guttuggering' The Making Of OK Go's 'The Writing's On The Wall' Video http://wnku.org/post/making-ok-gos-writings-wall-video <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3RSoSnStNw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m86ae_e_ptU</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 14:57:06 +0000 Bob Boilen 37212 at http://wnku.org The Making Of OK Go's 'The Writing's On The Wall' Video Conor Oberst: Tiny Desk Concert http://wnku.org/post/conor-oberst-tiny-desk-concert <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15998977/conor-oberst">Conor Oberst</a>'s new album has fast become my favorite of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15189641/bright-eyes">Bright Eyes</a> singer's solo projects, so having him come to NPR and perform a few of these songs at the Tiny Desk was especially exciting. The new music on <em>Upside Down Mountain </em>contains the sort of personal songwriting that got me loving him in the first place. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 19:38:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37173 at http://wnku.org Conor Oberst: Tiny Desk Concert