Shereen Marisol Meraji http://wnku.org en Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest http://wnku.org/post/lending-circles-help-latinas-pay-bills-and-invest <em>As part of its Changing Lives of Women series, </em>Morning Edition<em> is exploring women and their relationship with money: saving, purchasing and investing for themselves and their families. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:05:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 34057 at http://wnku.org Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do http://wnku.org/post/why-chaucer-said-ax-instead-ask-and-why-some-still-do <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0aB-f_pHfs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHZwOqLrF2M</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7E-aoXLZGY</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 21:43:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 29985 at http://wnku.org Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do The Whitest Historically Black College In America http://wnku.org/post/whitest-historically-black-college-america It opened in the late 19th century as the Bluefield Colored Institute, created to educate the children of black coal miners in segregated West Virginia. Although it still receives the federal funding that comes with its designation as a historically black institution, today Bluefield State College is 90 percent white. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 07:08:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 28359 at http://wnku.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America Summer Of '63: Old Lessons For A New Movement http://wnku.org/post/summer-63-old-lessons-new-movement <em>All this summer, NPR is looking back to civil rights activism of 1963, marking the 50th anniversary of a number of events that changed our society. From the </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/05/188727790/fifty-years-after-medgar-evers-killing-the-scars-remain">assassination of civil rights leader Medgar Evers</a><em> in Mississippi to the March on Washington; NPR is remembering the past and examining how our society has changed. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 18:23:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 26386 at http://wnku.org Summer Of '63: Old Lessons For A New Movement Latinas Drive Hispanic Purchasing Power In The U.S. http://wnku.org/post/latinas-drive-hispanic-purchasing-power-us Meet Pamela Maria Wright — the "contemporary Latina consumer." She has two kids — Nico and Rita — whom she hopes will be bilingual, as she is. She's a tech-savvy working professional with a master's degree, but she's also very traditional and family-oriented. (While I was visiting her home, her father showed up for a surprise visit. "How much more Latino can you get?" Wright asked.)<p>Wright not only consumes her media in English and Spanish, she also buys groceries biculturally. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 15:59:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 26111 at http://wnku.org Latinas Drive Hispanic Purchasing Power In The U.S. What [BLANK] Folks Don't Understand About Rachel Jeantel http://wnku.org/post/what-blank-folks-dont-understand-about-rachel-jeantel Rachel Jeantel. Her hourslong testimony spanned two days of the George Zimmerman trial, and I bet you'll be talking about it with your friends over the weekend. She's the 19-year-old key witness for the prosecution who had a cellphone conversation with Trayvon Martin moments before he was killed.<p>And she most definitely touched a nerve.<p><a href="http://sherriwilliamsmedia.com/">Multimedia reporter Sherri Williams</a> created a pretty thorough Storify with what she called "good, bad and ugly tweets about Rachel Jeantel," since Jeantel's national television debut Wednesday. Sat, 29 Jun 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 24479 at http://wnku.org What [BLANK] Folks Don't Understand About Rachel Jeantel Black Americans Give Entertainment Options Failing Grades http://wnku.org/post/black-americans-give-entertainment-options-failing-grades All this week on Code Switch and on air we've been <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/04/188301149/new-survey-takes-a-snapshot-of-the-view-from-black-america">digging into the findings</a> of a survey of African-American views of their communities, finances and social lives. Fri, 07 Jun 2013 21:33:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 23774 at http://wnku.org Black Americans Give Entertainment Options Failing Grades Seeking Oakland's Soul In The 'New Oakland' http://wnku.org/post/seeking-oaklands-soul-new-oakland <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnZ-QLuEGSM</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 08:35:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 21949 at http://wnku.org Seeking Oakland's Soul In The 'New Oakland'