Jeff Lunden http://wnku.org en Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://wnku.org/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35495 at http://wnku.org Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://wnku.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 31994 at http://wnku.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? http://wnku.org/post/oppression-opera-could-one-womans-courage-change-pakistan Mukhtar Mai is from a small tribal village in Pakistan. In 2002, her brother was accused of sexually molesting a woman from a wealthy land-owning clan. What happened next was horrifying, says singer and composer Kamala Sankaram.<p>"For retribution, the village council decided that Mukhtar should be gang-raped by four of the men of this clan," Sankaram says. "And what is supposed to happen for a woman after this has taken place is that, not only has she shamed herself, she's brought dishonor to the rest of her family, as well. Sat, 11 Jan 2014 14:38:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 31200 at http://wnku.org Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://wnku.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 30946 at http://wnku.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last Grand Central, A Cathedral For Commuters, Celebrates 100 http://wnku.org/post/grand-central-cathedral-commuters-celebrates-100 Friday marks the day that 100 years ago, Grand Central Terminal opened its doors for business for the very first time. The largest railroad terminal in the world, the magnificent Beaux-Arts building is in the heart of New York City on 42nd St. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 11:28:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 19413 at http://wnku.org 'Oklahoma!' Actress Celeste Holm Dies At 95 http://wnku.org/post/oklahoma-actress-celeste-holm-dies-95 Academy Award-winning actress Celeste Holm has died. A star on both stage and screen, Holm was best known for roles in <em>Gentleman's Agreement</em>, <em>All About Eve</em> and <em>Oklahoma!</em> She was 95.<p>Holm died early Sunday morning in her Manhattan apartment with her husband, family and close friends by her side. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 17:47:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 12908 at http://wnku.org